2011 SHC Awards – Driver of the Year

To celebrate the end of speedhillclimb.com’s first year of existance we have decided to look back on the year and recognise some of the stunning performances we have seen on the hills in 2011.

The prizes are purely bragging rights in the 2012 paddock, but nevertheless over the last few days of the year we will be announcing the 2012 speedhillclimb.com Awards!

The final, and most prestigious, of our awards will be presented for the ‘Driver of the Year’:

There have been several amazingly consistant drivers during the 2011 season, at both National and Regional level, and it has been a difficult decision to whittle it down to the three that have impressed us the most.

Lee Adams has rung the neck of his GWR Raptor all year long and has had an truely amazing run of success with 4 Top 12 Run Off wins and 5th place overall in the BHC.

Despite 2011 being something of a development year for his supercharged Force SR4 sportsracer, Rob Stevens ended the year on sensational form with a string of records and a fourth Midland Hillclimb Championship.

But the award, for dominating the outright results in the South West all year long and consistantly beating F1 V8-engined opposition with a far from new spaceframed, bike-engined car, goes to OMS-Suzuki driver Mike Lee. Mike has scored 10 FTDs and lowered 2 Outright Hill Records in the last 12 months.

Well done Mike, hope you have as good a 2012!

And that concludes our first ever speedhillcimb.com Awards, we will be on the look out for 2012s winners when the season starts in April.

Speak Your Mind