2012 SHC Awards – Driver of the Year

To celebrate the end of speedhillclimb.com’s second full year of existence, we have decided to review the year and recognise some of the stunning performances we have seen on the hills over the 2012 season.

The prizes are purely for bragging rights in the 2013 paddock, but nevertheless over the last few days of the year we will be announcing the winners of the 2013 speedhillclimb.com Awards!

Well folks, this is the big one! The awards to acknowledge the driver who has achieved the impossible, and driven out of his or her skin this season….

There have been several amazingly consistent drivers during the 2012 season, at both National and Regional level, and it has been a difficult decision to whittle it down to the three that have impressed us the most.

Darren Luke has demolished records virtually everywhere he has been with his beautifully presented Class B1 Road-going Caterham-Hayabusa and has definitely shaken up this ever popular and competitive class. For us though, the only disappointment with Darren is that if he has already broken his record he goes home after his first run, so many spectators are denied the opportunity of seeing one of the fastest drivers on the hills.

Jos Goodyear has been a contender for just about every award available to him this year. What a year it has been for the young Warwickshire driver. Twelve months ago would anyone have predicted that his first season in a Raptor would see him comprehensively see off Lee Adams, claim 4 BHC Run Off wins, set 2 outright hill records, win the Leaders Championship and finish in the top 4 of the BHC overall. Amazing.

But the award, for dominating the outright results in the second half of the BHC and consistently beating more powerful, and/or more agile opposition to claim his first ever British Hillclimb Championship with 10 Run Off wins, and three hill records is the ever hard-charging OMS 25 driver ‘Scary’ Trevor Willis!

Very well done Trev, this has been one hell of a season, here’s to more of the same in 2013.

And that concludes the second edition of the speedhillcimb.com Awards, we will be on the look out for 2014′s winners when the season starts in April.

Speak Your Mind