HSA Champion Crowned

The HSA Speed Championship is always one of the most popular series. With a varied points structure, cracking events, good media support and a relaxed & fun atmosphere it is easy to see why.

Alan Mugglestone RAW Fulcram

Alan Mugglestone took the HSA title for 2013 (thanks to Terry Davies).


Three of the past four Champions in this series have come from the Mazda MX5 one-make class (the interloper being SBD Westfield driver Matt Hillam in 2012), but that was scheduled to change in 2013. With Hillam moving on to the British Sprint Championship, the way was clear for a new champ.

This season saw a hugely competitive scrap for the outright honours with the top six all within 10 points at the top of the table.

At the wheel of his mega 205 GTi, South West star Colin Satchell lead the series for most of the year but having scored heavily early in the season, his challenge faded a little under the pressure of dropped scores.

Professional Race Engineer Alan Mugglestone, who supported his son Nick to the title win in 2011, made a slow start to the year, but took a series of wins with his self-built Raw Fulcrum to snatch the Championship win away from Satchell at the final round of the year at the HSA Curborough event.

Satchell hung on to second overall, ahead of Andrew Cottrill (Subaru Impreza), Chris Howard-Harris (Caterham 7) and Paul Drowne (Satchell’s co-driver).


As always this series has produced an exciting finish to the season. If you are looking to step up from regional competition in 2014, then you should have a close look at the HSA Speed Championship.

Speak Your Mind