South West Settled

We have noticed that another Hillclimb Championship winner has been crowned in recent weeks.

 Craig Moore

Craig Moore claimed the ASWMC Hillclimb Championship (thanks to


The Association of South West Motor Clubs Hillclimb Championship is one of the most popular in the country with over 90 points-scorers this year in the series which runs at venues from Tregrehan, nr. St Austell to Gurston Down, nr. Salisbury.

This series has, in our opinion, one of the best points-scoring systems found anywhere in the country.

Each class winner gets 20 points, plus 0.01 points for every 0.01 second their time better that of the second placed finisher (up to a maximum of 21 points). Second in class receives 20 points, whereas remaining contenders in the class score 20 points minus 0.01 points for each 0.01 second that their time is greater than that of the second placed finisher. In addition to this, a bonus of 0.01 point is awarded per 0.01 second under a class record each runner is up to a maximum of 1 full point.

It might sound complicated, but aren’t all scoring systems complicated when you get down to the nitty-gritty…

The 2012 ASWMC season was a cracker with a four-way battle for the win going into the final round at Manor Farm Hillclimb at the end of September.

Two of the top 3 were unable to run at Manor. Terry Graves’ 3.5 litre Gould is ineligible at the venue due to the venue’s 2 litre capacity limit and Dave Gardner withdrew his entry as we hear that his Empire-Suzuki has been sold (who to I wonder!?).

This left a 2-way scrap between Craig Moore and former South West champ (when he ran the ex. Martin Groves Mallock) Melvyn James.

The pair were separated by a tiny margin, but Melvyn’s greater number of dropped scores saw the Sylva Striker driver settle for the runner-up spot behind Moore and his rally-spec Ford Cortina.

Melvyn James Sylva Striker

Former Champ Melvyn James was runner-up in 2012 (thanks to


Moore will be worth watching again in 2013, he claimed the Wiscombe title in 2011, the South West title in 2012, what will come next?

Speak Your Mind