In 1948 the MSA formalised speed hillclimbing in the UK with the start of the British Hillclimb Championship, the first such championship in British Motorsport, this championship is going strong to this day.

As well as the flagship British Championship, there are many other regional championships as well as single-make and even single-venue championships running each year from the Highlands of Scotland, to Cornwall and from the Channel Islands to Northern Ireland.