TMC Wiscombe – Official Report

Further to our own report on the Saturday event at Wiscombe Park last weekend, Torbay Motor Club’s Press Officer Rupert Barker  has kindly sent us over the club’s review of the days activities at the parkland hill


Ed Hollier Pilbeam MP62

Hollier attacks Sawbench in the Pilbeam (thanks to Dewerstone Photography)


Ottery St Mary’s Ed Hollier swept to his fifth victory from five starts at Torbay Motor Club’s Wiscombe Park hill climb, taking Fastest Time of the Day in his Hayabusa-engined Pilbeam MP62. Hollier’s superiority on the East Devon course was demonstrated by his winning margin of a fraction over 2.5 seconds from his nearest rival Andrew Dinner (Pilbeam MP82), who improved on his second run with a time of 38.27 seconds but couldn’t approach Hollier’s stunning first effort of 36.01, just a few hundredths shy of the all-time record for up-to 1600cc racing cars at the venue. The only other drivers to dip into the sub-40 second bracket were Launceston’s Paul Crute (Pilbeam MP58-01) with a time of 39.85 and Tavistock’s Doug Bennett, whose first run in his highly modified Sports Libre Sylva Stryker stopped the clock on 39.46 seconds.

Sponsored once again by the local partnership of The Tipton Garage and Alansway Body Repairs, the club’s Wiscombe event was held in very welcome bright and sunny conditions, which burnt off the previous day’s torrential showers and dried the track through the early morning practice runs to give a near-perfect surface for the afternoon’s competition.

Three Torbay Motor Club members won their classes, with Gordon Iles (Vauxhall Tigra) reigning supreme in the hotly contested C2 division, Andrew Short (OMS SC1) winning D1 by just 3 hundredths of a second and Stuart Browne (OMS SF2) taking the spoils in E2. Newton Abbot’s Andy Stoddart (Vauxhall Nova) was less fortunate, blowing his engine apart in spectacular fashion in the Esses and incurring lengthy sweeping and oil-absorption work by the hard-working marshals.

2012 Wiscombe Park hill climb champion Craig Moore from Lyme Regis competed alone in Class D4 but picked up valuable points towards his tally for this year and Exminster driver Jonathan Langmead (Lotus Elan) won the Classic Marques Speed Challenge trophy on handicap with a time of 45.54 seconds.

Nine contenders from the TVR Sports Car Club speed championship again battled for points, the winner’s spoils eventually going to Geoff Stallard who brought his TVR Vixen from Godalming in Surrey to win on handicap with a first-run time of 46.66 seconds. Unfortunately on his second attempt Geoff lost control of the Vixen after Bunny’s Leap and left the course at speed approaching the Gate, and immediately afterwards Paul Moakes emulated Geoff’s accident with an identical ‘off’ into the same bushes in his TVR V8S, both fortunately without injury; these two incidents contributed to a lengthy delay whilst their cars were recovered.

Andy Traynor Audi Quattro

Andy Traynor has a moment out of Sawbench (thanks to Dewerstone Photography)


The MG Luffield Speed championship was contested by 7 competitors, with local driver Terry Drinkwater from Axbridge in his MGA coupe taking the spoils with a second run of 47.18 seconds.

For the third successive year, Team Lucy, a Greenpower 24 series electric car built by technology students from Newton Abbot College, demonstrated their car on the lower downhill section of the track, again increasing their maximum speed by nearly 5 m.p.h. over last year’s effort, a testament to the ingenuity and development work put in by the young student engineers. Their car was on display in the paddock and drew interest from competitors and spectators alike.

Class Winners:

A1 David Foster (Bristol) Mini 1275GT 47.66
A2 Steve Ellis (Plymouth) Ford Escort Mk2 44.48
A3 Anthony Wright (Wellington) Audi A3 44.59
A4 Anthony Bulpitt (West Wellow) Ford Sierra Cosworth 41.38
B2 Phillip Pearn (Plymouth) Stuart Taylor R1 43.67
B3 Mike Williams (Warminster) Westfield SEiW 43.32
C1 Mark Shillaber (Launceston) Ford Fiesta 43.81
C2 Gordon Isles (Clevedon) Vauxhall Tigra 45.16
C3 Colin Satchell (Holsworthy) Peugeot 205 41.74
C4 Den Conibear (Crediton) Nissan Pulsar GTiR 43.31
C6 Geoff Blake (Weymouth) Westfield SEi 42.03
D1 Andrew Short (Exeter) OMS SC1 41.43
D2 Doug Bennett (Tavistock) Sylva Stryker 39.46
E2 Stuart Browne (Chard) OMS SF2 40.14
E3 Andrew Dinner (Launceston) Pilbeam MP82 38.27
F2 Geoff Stallard (Godalming) TVR Vixen 46.66 (on handicap)
F5 Terry Drinkwater (Axbridge) MGA Coupe 47.18

FTD Ed Hollier (Ottery St Mary) Pilbeam MP62 36.01

Classic Marques Speed Challenge Ward – Jonathan Langley (Exminster) – Lotus Elan – 45.54

Motor Bikes:

FTD 2W Ben Wilkins (Bourne) Aprilia 998 42.34
FTD 3W Patrick/Paul Keates (Wellington) Yamaha Baker F1 43.82

Best Torbay Motor Club Member (not to win another award) – Stewart Lillington (Chard) – Vauxhall Astra – 43.75
Most Entertaining Driver (Marshal’s Award) – Hugh Trotman (Chippenham) – Lotus Elise 160
Spirit of the Event Award – Graham Blake

The event was a round of:
The Association of South Western Motor Clubs Bridge Tyres and Wheels Point S 2013 Hill Climb Championship,
The Association of Central Southern Motor Clubs Hamilton Classic 2013 Speed Hillclimb Championship,
The Bridge Tyres and Wheels Point S 2013 Wiscombe Hill Climb Championship,
The 20132 Torbay Motor Club Speed Championship.
The TVR Car Club 2013 Speed Championship.
The MG Luffield 2013 Speed Championship,
The 2013 Classic Marques Speed Championship and
The Downton Engineering Social Club 2013 Speed Series.

The event supported the Devon Air Ambulance Trust. Web-link:


Speak Your Mind