Wiscombe Class Round-up

The records were by no means confined to the Top 12 Run Offs at Woolbridge MC’s Wiscombe Park British Championship round at the weekend. With Leaders Hillclimb Championship points up for grabs the title chasers were trying hard.

Kings Mews Racing

The Kings Mews Elan ran in the Invitation Class


Plenty of local drivers came out to play as well, both in the Championship classes and the ‘buffer classes’ at the end of the program, and many of them pushed the National boys to the limit.

Antony Bulpitt has become a force to be reckoned with at Wiscombe these days. He may not have the latest kit, but his Sapphire Cosworth has been developed into a seriously quick hillclimb car. Antony set a stunning 41.16s record in the Road Going Series Production class to see off the much newer Mitsubishi Evos of Simon Neve and Tom Reeves. Goodridge employee Mark Brewer was fourth in his self developed Pulsar GTiR.

Long time Westfield driver Andrew Williams came up from Cornwall to take the Kit Car class from the lovely Lotus 23B replica of Cliff Conibear who ran sub-45s. Conibear’s Brother Den took the Mod Prod Saloon class in his rebuilt Pulsar GTiR.

South West legend Roy Bray wheeled out his crowd pleasing Escort Mark 1 in the 2-litre Mod Prod National class (are you keeping up!?) and took a few Leaders points from Paul Webster by taking the win from the MX5 driver.

The Mod Prod Sports National class saw a fleet of 911s taking on the familiar Morgan +8 of Mike Hall. Hall couldn’t keep pace with the titanic scrap between the Stuttgart built cars. Bob Mortimer’s iconic 1970s 2.7 ducktail model managed to split the modern GT3 Cup cars around him by pipping Andy Fraser for third place. But the scrap at the front swung back and forwards all day. Peter Turnbull lead after practice, then Tim Painter hit the front on the first runs, but finally Turnbull’s greater experience in these cars came to the fore and he took the win away from the Jovial Gent.


Leaders sponsor & title contender Graham Wynn suffered due to the lack of entries in his 2-litre Sport Libre class, joined only by James Moore’s OMS he scored only 4pts despite a good time.

The charismatic Puma rallycross car of Mike Manning lead the big Sports Libre pack at the break after practice leader Rod Thorne made a mistake at the top of the hill. The former Wiscombe Champion gathered his composure in the afternoon and relegated Manning to second, just ahead of the mad Sylva Striker of Doug Bennett.


Lloyd Chaplin’s cracking 600cc record has already been covered here.

Former Midland Speed Champion Gary Thomas made the journey from Nottingham worthwhile with the 1100cc win and two Run Off places. A massive battle raged behind him with 0.60s covering the next four places. Alex Summers’ OMS and Simon Fidoe’s Empire were never separated by more than 0.03s all day. Summers took second place eventually as both made the second Run Off. Dave Gardner was fourth at the break in the original Empire chassis, narrowly ahead of Olivia Cooper’s Force. Olivia went slower second time up, and it was just as well for Gardner as he went off track on the second runs in an unusual incident under red flags at The Gate.


Lee Adams and Jos Goodyear have both been at the very sharp end of the Leaders table all season, and with fellow front-runner Scott Moran absent they were determined to take advantage. Jos took the win and a bonus point in this well supported class for a maximum, but Lee followed him home (again under the record) to maintain his championship lead. Dave Uren produced a storming second run to be ‘best of the rest’ ahead of Richard Spedding and the beautifully built (and shc.com stickered!) Pilbeam-Suzuki of Wiscombe local Ed Hollier.


Cornishman Andy Dinner took a comfortable 2-litre win ahead of Tony Hunt. Dinner set a cracking 37.65s time in the ex. lots of people (Blankstone/Snailham/Frost/New) MP62/82.

‘Scary Trev’ took the Big Class with that initial Hill Record on the opening qually run, Wallace Menzies ran in the 34s both times for second place and Will Hall took his best result of the year with third in the Force V6.


The ‘buffer classes’ caught the worst of the heavy shower which affected the first Run Off, so the classes were mostly settled second time up. The cracking ex. John Meredith Maguire Mini of Saltash driver Derek Kessell took the DEWS Club class ahead of the interloper in the class Tim Porter in his non-Mini (gorgeous Mark 2 Escort). Championship Co-ordinator Steve Harris was third in his latest Mini. Venue Sponsor Mike Potter was fastest on scratch in the crowd favourite ‘Invitation Class’. As well as Potter’s Subaru, the class featured the Mini, Lotus, Ford, Prosport, Sylva, HWM and even Cooper marques.


The Leaders Championship now has nearly a month off before re-convening at The World Famous Shelsley Walsh at the end of August.

Speak Your Mind